Building self confidence


Self confidence was not something that people are born with. Developing self confidence takes time and effort and yes, it is well worth the effort.

In my case, building self confidence was a gradual process. No matter how old or experienced we get, developing confidence is something that you should never stop doing. One of the things I found helpful was to step outside of my comfort zone. Comfort zone means that you are not trying anything new.

I realized early in my life that I need to be fluent in speaking English and be able to communicate well with others. One of the habits I developed was reading the news paper. That helped me to learn new words in English but I was thinking how to use that advantage to speak well with others in English.  So between friends we started a training institute to give tuitions to school children and intermediate students with nominal fees to cover our expenses. But for the first time I was facing audience. I was nervous and first few days I could not speak well. But as days passed by I became comfortable with students and was able to speak and on the way learnt more words in English. That is the fist step in building self confidence.

Then came the job offer. Now I have to face experts and I’m back to nervousness. I then asked my friends whether they can do mock interviews for me and ask whatever they like to and I answer them. I got good practice but on the day of interview I was still nervous and hoping to take control of myself. As I walked in, there are around 10 to 12 experts sitting in a big hall. The moment I saw them all my practice and confidence nosedived and I was very nervous. Fortunately the team was very comforting and helpful. I think most of the interviewers know our situations. As the questions rolled out from their mouths my nervousness become less and less. By the time I’m done with interview I was confident and smiling. I got the job too.

I continued my pursuit of  reading and mastering new things every day. That helped me to get a job in US of A  and I went to US and worked with some of the smartest people on the planet. I learned a lot and I keep learning every day from all situations and all kinds of people. Confidence increases if you know the subject well. So never stop learning in your life whether you are young or old. It keeps your mind healthy.

The trick was to start small and then keep challenging myself  and step outside my comfort zone on a regular basis.

Don’t be afraid to take on a new task when asked by your manager or professors at college or your parents or anybody. Turn it into a challenge and keep thinking in the back of your mind that this is just another method in building your self confidence and learning new things. Use modern tools and methods to accomplish your work in a much better way. Don’t  just stop with first solution for a problem  but try to look at the problems from different perspectives. You will be surprised to know how many ways a problem can be solved and that gives more confidence to you.

Don’t expect to gain a massive amount of confidence in one day. It’s a gradual process. It took me years. More challenges and opportunities you are faced with, the easier it will all become to become confident. Be careful though, not to mix up self confidence with being over confident. They are two different things. Don’t have unrealistic expectations of you either. Take one step at a time and build on it. Building self confidence comes from a person’s desire for self-development, accomplishments and achievements. And yes, the rewards are so worth it and I’m one example for you to learn first hand what wonders self confidence can do. Want to learn more then email me.

2 thoughts on “Building self confidence

  1. Thanks to my good friend Ralph Raugust from USA taking time to read the article and for the suggestions. I did some changes accordingly.

Leave a Reply

