No attachment, No emotion Just do it


“If you always think the way you’ve always thought, you’ll always get what you’ve always gotten.”  ..xyz….

After a grueling (demanding, hard, punishing) and hectic two weeks of working on a project I got some break to focus on doing something else. The project is work in progress but my part is done so now I can connect with you all.  When I look back to the previous year I have gone thru some of the worst times and some of the best times. The worst is not able to maintain good health because of Polio and to work on the most exciting and challenging international ERP (enterprise Resource Planning) projects of some of the best company’s in the world as I used to do while I was In USA and some times while in India.  This makes me sad because I lost the opportunity to contribute something new to today’s challenges of diverse business units.  Working with diverse workforce from across different continents on the most challenging business problems gives you immense pleasure and knowledge that you can cherish your whole life. The pleasure of thinking that your contributions to customer help them to run their daily business will always remains with you.

Now coming to the best times of my previous year, I’m able to share my corporate experience with student community by connecting with them at JNTU and skillsnest. I’m happy that I decided to do what ever I can to the student community in what ever way it is possible for me. I should thank the students for showing interest in learning and cooperating with me.

I wish to convey that in life we wish so many things and we develop attachment and connect emotions to our wishes. (Fortunately I did not connect emotion to my career plans. I’m happy with what I achieved and what I’m doing now).

We feel we have a perfect plan of what we wish to achieve, but we miss to consider all the parameters that are required for a plan to work without a flaw. (In my case I underestimated my health in my career plan that forced me to abandon my projects and return to India).  

As you mature in age and experience you will realize that having attachment or emotion to your wish or desire makes you vulnerable and weak when you failed to achieve that. What you need to realize is that there is a possibility of failure even after you meticulously planned your career or what ever you want to achieve. That leads to frustration and you become upset with yourself and others around you. But remember one failure is not the end of your life.  You just need to learn what went wrong and correct that mistake so that you won’t do it again. By gaining such small experiences while you are experimenting in fulfilling your wishes you will ultimately succeed in many of the things you wish to achieve. What is most important is that anything can go wrong and it is better not to attach emotion or love to that thing.  What ever you do try doing it the best way whether it may be career plans or love affair or getting ranks in your academic exams but keep the emotion at Bay and do a failure analysis of what went wrong and correct it for your next plan.

World will not end if you missed something. If one door closes on you there is a possibility of another door opening for you. So you just need to be optimistic and continue your journey towards achieving what ever you wish to achieve.

No matter what you do just do your duty and enjoy the pleasure of learning something new.

 Yoga, Meditation and physical fitness helps you to withstand the negative emotions. Learn a sport and play regularly and maintain hygiene and clean surroundings. That gives you positive feelings and helps you succeed more. 

 “If opportunity does not knock, build a door.”  Milton Berle.

3 thoughts on “No attachment, No emotion Just do it

  1. the topic is excellent. this is absolutely important to the current generation. thank you so much sir for sharing your experiences and guiding us

Leave a Reply

